top of page

a checklist for making your perfect playlist

I have a playlist for everything. Every day, every mood, every activity. Making playlists takes a lot of work, especially making one you’ll actually listen to. This is a checklist to help you achieve a “perfect playlist.”

"Basic White Girl Bangers" Music Playlist for teen girls on Apple Music. Featuring Taylor Swift, Katy Perry, and Selena Gomez

Is it a playlist for you or for everyone?

Some of my playlists are very personal and hold a lot of emotion. These usually aren’t the ones that other people listen to. Some of my other playlists are very popular and everyone listens to them. One of my personal favorites is “basic white girl bangers.” You can listen on Apple Music here https://music.apple.com/us/playlist/basic-white-girl-bangers/pl.u-LdbqevBuxVd5EmZ







Good title

Having a good title makes your playlist stand out. I like to use inside jokes, funny statements, or song lyrics. One of my favorite playlist names is “men have no souls.” It’s my ultimate breakup playlist. You can listen here https://music.apple.com/us/playlist/men-have-no-souls/pl.u-AkAm82aF2YoDALX






A “vibe” or “theme” (everyday, sad, breakup, fall, christmas, etc.)

You can have playlists with a million different genres, artists, and moods. However, it’s also nice to have smaller themed playlists, so you always have a go-to for every mood. One of my niche playlists is called “top of the mountain.” It’s filled with songs that make me want to go outside and be around a campfire. Link https://music.apple.com/us/playlist/top-of-the-mountain/pl.u-RRbVNeVu3p1ZbgV



Do your songs pass this flowchart?















The best part about playlists is they’re completely customisable and up to you! Make them unique, make them what you like, and don’t be afraid to have 30 different playlists (even if your best friend only has 7). Good music/playlists are essential to college and teen life. I listen to music almost 24 hours a day. This checklist is how I make my playlists and how I know I’ll listen to them and other people will enjoy them as well.


Check out my other playlists on Apple Music https://music.apple.com/profile/anniemcneill


bottom of page